Reporting For Duty

A little over a year ago, I started this Seasoned With Salt blog. All this time later, it has turned into a full blown coaching business. The very first blog entry I wrote was about when God calls, we need to LISTEN and move into action immediately.

It doesn’t necessarily mean that when you receive the calling from Him that everything will fall into place right away. After all, I have been plugging away at this for a little over a year in preparation! As a single mother, it has meant a lot of late nights and weekends. And fortunately, my kids are flexible and spontaneous like I am, so we’ve had some creative and fun family time right in the midst of all this change.

One year ago, I received a calling from God to live my passion, reach his people, and do it all for His glory. One year ago, I moved into action in preparation, made plans, prayed, refined those plans, actively prayed and listened for his guidance, cried my eyes out at times in frustration (technical issues, okay?!), and kept moving forward one step, and one instruction at a time.

Today, I can’t tell you what my future looks like, because I find myself living by faith and not by sight. I don’t know what a year from now looks like. I have an idea, but until I work through this next year, plan my steps, seek God’s guidance and will, and continue to live by faith, I will have no real idea. I can imagine, but I’ve found that what I imagine and what God has planned are two totally different things. Usually, I imagine and dream too small. God always surpasses what I envision. Isn’t that awesome?! (I tend to think of things in my small mindedness of what is possible, and sometimes I forget to think of things in God’s awesomeness where EVERYTHING is possible and unlimited!)

Yes, this past year has been so much preparation and planning. It has been the time period in which I have been called, trained, and equipped. One of my favorite quotes is, “God doesn’t call the equipped. He equips the called.” That is so true! He has provided me with everything I need this past year, and now the time has come.

In three days, I report for duty to live His calling and become completely focused on that. I am not just a coach because it’s a job. I am a coach of this magnitude and passion, because I have been called. And, now it is with honor that I look forward to reporting to duty.

I can’t wait to wake up each day and know that I am called to serve the Lord by reaching his people to discover the potential he has given each of them. How can I contain such excitement for this mission!? I am so absolutely excited to have the opportunity each day to focus my life on Him. I know that without a doubt that in doing so, He will continue to guide me from here forward. I think I am too excited and happy to be scared. And, speaking of scared? I’m not. I am peaceful and smiling, joyous to the core. Yes God, I am reporting for full-time duty.

Three days left…and I want to punch in early 😉

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rick Hubbell on April 30, 2009 - 9:27 am

    Christine,This is great stuff: “In three days, I report for duty to live His calling and become completely focused on that. I am not just a coach because it’s a job. I am a coach of this magnitude and passion, because I have been called. And, now it is with honor that I look forward to reporting to duty.”Inspiring to me and others too. Keep up the great blogging. More people need to grab hold of your ideas.

Leave a Reply

