Change In Plans

When I left work tonight, my evening agenda started unraveling beyond control. I didn’t take my lunch hour until 4pm, so I could meet the appliance repairman at my house. Sunday while I was doing laundry, my front loading washing machine was leaking water straight through the bottom, and it was no minor leak either.

So, this evening my schedule started by looking like this:

4:00pm, Repair guy to fix washer
5:30pm, Dinner at the Anchor with family to celebrate Grandma’s b-day
7:30pm, Surge at church

Not too bad, and that’s what we had planned on for this evening. But, little did I know, it would all change.

Here’s how it really went down:
4:00 Arrive home with headache from not eating lunch all day and desperately needing a snack.

5:00 Still no repair guy

5:05 Call Aunt to have her pick up the kiddos and take them to the restaurant so they don’t miss
celebration with Grandma.

5:15 Dad arrives to pick up kids. How that changed is beyond me, but it works!

5:20 Repairman calls to say he’ll be here in 10 minutes.

5:40 Call Dad at restaurant. Family hasn’t ordered yet, so I meet them there. Repairman said it might be another two days for the part. It’s okay, we’ll just shower and wash clothes when the neighbor turns on his sprinkler system.

6:45 The kids don’t want to go home just yet, so they ask if we can go for a drive around town. I have 30 minutes before I need to leave for bible study, so I agree.

6:50 We see a really cool house for sale. It’s only $245,000. Can I just write an IOU and we’ll just move in tomorrow? Never mind, I can’t spend the stimulus package like that. Oooops, sorry!

7:00 We’re about to head back home, when we see two teenage boys, one of which is laying in the street with his bicycle next to him, and his friend talking to him. My son realizes the boys are in his class at school and he is friends with them. He thought the guy laying in the street was “kind of hurt” and joking about it.

My son has me pull over and jumps out of the car to catch up with his buddies for a laugh over a fall off the bike, oops kind of thing, but realizes that it is far more than a silly “ha, ha, ha” type of incident. I see cell phones coming out, so I get out of the car and go to inquire about the seriousness of any injuries. The young man thinks he broke his wrists and can’t get up off the pavement unable to put pressure on them. So, I stick my arms under his arms and around his chest to lift him up without hurting the wrists and get him to the side of the road.

He’s in some serious pain and he’s doing everything within his power to control showing his emotions. We moved him out of the street and offered to get him home, make calls from cell phones, etc, but he lived just a few houses down.

I know, long story. I didn’t make it to Bible study tonight. Instead, I was in the right place at the right time to help someone in need. It’s not about what happens in our churches as much as it is what happens when we are outside. What do we ignore? What needs are we meeting? And then are we pointing them to God, Christ, and our churches?

I know, more questions. Questions are good! They make us think! They stretch us to the “what if’s” and allow growth and problem solving! They challenge us to learn and become more. So, if my questions bother people, I make no apologies. I don’t want to change that! Why should I? What does positive change mean for people’s lives? See? More questions! Ok, I’ll stop for now.

When I got the kids back home after dinner and all the other activities, my daughter told me she really needed some clothes washed for tomorrow. So, I packed a basket full of laundry and took it over to my parent’s house to wash it. Yep, I was missing Bible study tonight. I was big time disappointed as it’s something that I do look forward to every Wednesday. For me, it’s like eating cereal with no milk if I miss it. It feels like something is missing. In this crazy and draining world, Surge is something that gives me a boost or hope in the middle of my week.

But, tonight I just wasn’t going to make it. NOT!!!

When I got to my parent’s house, I pulled my laptop out of my bag, put the laundry in the washer and checked my email. And there it was…a reminder about Surge being on ustream.tv tonight. Oh, was I one happy camper! Pulling up Surge online made me think of the kids who used to get so excited over the radio shows before the days of TV. Not that I am old enough to have ever seen any of them…really, I am not!

I pulled up Surge online and began to watch it. And the best part? Pretty soon, I am not alone. Curiosity set in. My Dad got to see how Bible study and the church is utilizing technology formerly only seen in the business world being used to reach the people in the world for Christ. Had I not been doing a load of laundry tonight at my parent’s house, I couldn’t have shared the link and information. Yeah, God!

So, by not making it to Surge tonight, I got to help a young man injured laying in the street, and show another person that Christ can be accessed anywhere, anytime, and through the latest technology. Woooohoooooo!

I have to admit, my evening took on a whole new perspective when I thought about how my agenda fell apart, but I feel that God’s agenda was met. What does it mean exactly? I don’t know and that’s not the point. The important thing for me is to just let God lead while I follow and do what He calls me to at the proper time. Had I waited to help that teenager in the road, he could’ve been hit by a car behind me. Timing is important! And I think the real lesson here is not my timing being the controlling factor, but trusting God’s timing.

It’s definitely been something I’ve been learning about. And it’s not easy. It’s not easy until I trust God and let Him be in control. Then I find it really does become easier. A lot easier. Even if it means I am not in church or where I had planned on being. I need to consider the surroundings I find myself in and reach the people around me…where ever that is.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

