God Chose You

When I sat down in my office one day last week, I was compelled to write three words. I grabbed my sticky notes beneath the mountain of paperwork and wrote:

God chose you.

As the day progressed, I found myself glancing down at those words on the sticky note.

An individual needed this. Someone else needed that. Why me?
God chose you.

I thought about Seasoned With Salt, my book, and HOPE. Am I nuts?
God chose you.

I thought about the tasks at hand. I thought about the things I don’t like doing.
God chose you.

I thought about my kiddos. What a blessing they are! What a challenge they are!
God chose you.

I thought about leading others to Christ. Am I brave enough to lead?
God chose you.

I thought about my parents, my sisters, and my family. What a blessing!
God chose you.

I thought about the conversation I had with someone who was angry and hating life. Why dump on me? (And it turned out to be an awesome conversation!)
God chose you.

I thought about life’s challenges, and how they have been used to shape and mature me.
God chose you.

When I turned my thinking around and started thinking about how God chose me, instead of thinking “why me,” it put an entirely different perspective on everything that occurred on that day. I was kinder, more compassionate, more thankful and blessed, and I reacted to so many things differently. This is one sticky note that I am not throwing away any time soon.

God chose you!

“And so, as those who have been chosen of God, holy and beloved, put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience; 13bearing with one another, and forgiving each other, whoever has a complaint against anyone; just as the Lord forgave you, so also should you. 14And beyond all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity. 15And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body; and be thankful. 16Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God. 17And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.” (NASB)

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

