Make Mine A Diet

How many times have we witnessed someone in a restaurant placing an order that includes a diet soda? “I’ll have the fried chicken, mashed potatos smothered in extra gravy, a side of home fries, and for dessert I’d like the triple scoop chocolate suicide sundae with extra whipped topping. Oh, and I’d like a Diet Coke with that.”

How much sense does that make? A full meal full of starch, carbs, little fiber, and enough fat grams to last a week. What difference does the Diet Coke make? The truth is, it makes very little difference. The food being consumed is not going to help keep this person healthy, nor is it going to assist them in maintaining their proper weight.

Thinking about this same scenario, could it be that we actually do this in other areas of our lives? How about with our relationships, addictions, and all of the little white lies we tell ourselves? We compromise by not going all the way to give up something we know we should do without. We think that this will not make us as guilty as if we’d not tried at all to be good with at least part of it. Truthfully, I think we do this more than we’d like to admit. Remember, we have become a society of justification.

“Well, I will ONLY go 10 mph over the posted speed limit. That’s not so bad.”

“Well, I will ONLY drink one beer before I get in my car to drive. That should be okay.”

“Well, today I’ll only smoke 5 cigarettes. I will be a little healthier.”

“Well, I can look at semi-nude pictures online. It’s better than the full blown stuff.

“WELL? What’s with all the wells? If you are not a water well digger, you shouldn’t have that many. This includes me, too, so I will use we instead. We shouldn’t have that many. If we find ourselves using this self justification to meet our wants instead of God’s wants for us, we are doing nothing more than digging ourselves into a hole. The next time we start a sentence for justification with “Well…” we should ask ourselves what we are trying to justify and for whom.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

