The Five Speed Life

There’s nothing like driving and being in control. For me, there’s nothing better than driving my five-speed PT Cruiser. In fact, the reason I went out of the way to purchase this particular car was primarily because it is a five-speed. I am a five-speed person. I like to have control over when the car shifts. I like to have the freedom to accelerate quickly, downshift through corners, and drive it like I’m in the Indy 500 (up to the speed limit, of course!) It’s fun, it gives me a sense of control, and I definitely like to control how I get to my destinations.

I live in a small town where the speed limit downtown is 20 mph tops. The rest of town it averages 35 mph. To have all of these great controls at my disposal and not be able to use them is frustrating. I find myself getting antsy when I’m limited by a speed limit or traffic from an occasional tractor or horse and buggy. And yes, they really do exist here. I want to get to where I want to go, I want to get there how I feel like getting there (fast and furiously), and I want to enjoy the ride with windows down, music cranked, and seat dancing. Just use your imagination on seat dancing…it’s a lot of bee-bopping while sitting! Trust me on this one!

Stopping for the unexpected train, taking a detour, or making a pit stop is just not in my plans! About the only time I will deviate from my five-speed mission of the moment is when my favorite song is on. It’s just not right to get out of the car when a favorite song is on! I’ll suddenly find time to sit in the car until it finishes playing. As I drove my car around town today and thought about why I enjoy a five-speed transmission, I realized one thing. I’m a control freak!

I’ve thought about control quite a bit since. So many times I want to live my life the same way. I want to be in complete control. I want to rely upon myself to reach my goals. I want to enjoy the ride. I want to do, see, and make my life what I want it to be. And, I don’t want any detours along the way. That is just so me! And then I found myself thinking about how scary it is for me to be the one actually controlling my life. I am a faulted human. I am limited in my abilities. I am limited in my strength, knowledge, and I don’t have all the answers. Why on earth then would I want to rely upon myself to control my life? Suddenly, it became scary!

I realized that the moments I am in a five-speed mode, I am not allowing God to be in control. If I am not allowing Him to have control by submitting myself to His will, His purpose, and His plan, then I am not trusting Him to guide me, shape me, and mold me into what He has intended. After all, He created me. God knows the plans He has for my life, and if I place my trust in Him, I will arrive at the proper destinations at the right times.

So, am I trading in my five-speed? No way! I’m keeping the car. Each day I drive it, I am reminded to submit myself to His purpose and maintain confidence in His perfect plans.
Jeremiah 29:11 (New International Version)
11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

