Independence Day

The fourth of July is one of my favorite summer time holidays. It’s all about gathering family and friends, eating bbq, and watching fireworks. This year was no exception. We gathered at my Aunt’s house to visit, eat, shoot fireworks, and watch the community fireworks display after sunset. As I watched the fireworks display, I thought about the festivities surrounding this specific holiday.

The fourth of July is America’s Independence Day. All of the festivities, parades, and community events revolve around celebrating our freedom and independence. As Americans we have the freedom the live, work, and play according to our own beliefs. We have the freedom of choice. We can dress in as little or as much as we want. We can choose our own media and listen to music, watch television, and attend functions we find enjoyable. We have freedom of religion and can choose to live our lives as Christians. And, yet as a nation of people with all of these freedoms available to us, we still don’t take advantage of breaking free to live independently of the world.

Titus 2:11-1411
For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men. 12 It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, 13 while we wait for the blessed hope—the glorious appearing of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, 14 who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.

As the fourth of July came to a close, I pondered the phrase Independence Day. Even though the clock was near midnight and the holiday was nearly over, I knew I had discovered a new meaning in my heart. As a Christian, I must consider each day an independence day. Each day I must say “No” to the worldly ideas, idealisms, and temptations that can lead me away from breaking free to live for Christ. Each day is a day that I can exercise my freedom to live for Christ and declare my independence by doing so. Each day I will fight a battle to keep my focus on Christ. Each day I will dependend on Him.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

